My First Ladder Game...

Discuss strategies of warbarons

My First Ladder Game...

Postby Yevi » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:12 pm

...was an unmitigated disaster.

I am new to Warbarons. However, I did play Warlords. Not competitively, but I enjoyed it. I have played a few games of Warbarons, with others new to it. I decided to give a ladder game a try. The map is Hammer Mountain. In 7 turns my opponent marched in with a hero stack with a mammoth and a battering ram. Two turns later he has another hero show up.

How? That's some rich units that early and then to have them in the middle of my cities.

I have been reading some of the advice in here. Is the advice here make that big of a difference? Always plunder? Get more heroes? Explore ruins? My hero seems to die from early ruin exploring.

On a side note, the name of my opponent is a cover? How do you do that? Do you ever get to know?
Yevi

Re: My First Ladder Game...

Postby LPhillips » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:36 am

Welcome, Yevi!

It sounds like you got trapped into a game where someone was looking for ladder points. We have been discussing this problem recently on the forum. Don't be discouraged; you just got blindsided and you need to start out with a few normal games.

Most of the best players can't compete well with someone on their pet map like that. Some players love to take advantage of certain maps to get quick points. They likely play the same map over and over until they learn to win in a few turns. If you want to see who they were, I think it is possible to find out when the game is over.

Do you want to play a more normal game with me, and maybe some other friendly players? Just click on my name and send me a message if you want to. We can give you all of the advice you need to win :)
LPhillips

Postby piranha » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:22 am