One turn duration

Discuss anything related to warbarons.

One turn duration

Postby Zajoman » Thu Aug 19, 2010 3:30 pm

Hi there, guys.

I always loved Warlords series, especially DLR, but I'm completely new to this remake, and a few things confuse me quite a bit. And I cannot find any source of basic information on how the game is played, what it's all about etc.

First, I don't quite get one turn duration. Will one turn always take from 1 to x days, or do you plan to make it possible to host/join games where players take turns one after another, sitting there for the whole duration of the game? I mean I'd rather focus fully on one game at a time played at a high pace than on several games played every here and there.

I've just checked the Beta 3 screen shots and they're great. I'm starting to like this project. By the way, if you think you could use some help regarding English (strings, text stylistics, etc.), I'm here for you.
Zajoman

Re: One turn duration

Postby piranha » Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:12 pm

Hello!

The game will get better documentation and we are changing details here and there too to make it easier for new players particular those who never played warlords before with every beta.

But right now the victory condition is conquer 70% of all cities.

The turn only take as long as it takes for people to do their turn. The 1-5 days is the max time someone have before the they missed to do their turn.
If all the players are quick at doing their turns even 8 player games can go quite fast.

The thing is that playing one game in one sitting have some problems if you consider 6+ players who take about 2-5 minutes doing their turn but also the fact that someone may not notice that its their turn until another 5 minutes have passed. It may take around 30 minutes before its your second turn. People live in different timezones, some people don't have as much time as other and so on.

I've seen 1v1 games where 15 turns happen in one day so it is possible.