Cannot start scenario games

If you find a bug please report it here

Cannot start scenario games

Postby jcooking99 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:28 pm

Hello,

I played "The Horde" map a month or so ago, found it challenging and decided recently I wanted to have another go.

However when I try to start a new game using this map & scenario, I can't get it to work.

This is what I do:
"Game settings" section:
Map: The Horde
Number of Players: Scenario
Fog of war: on (I've tried with off, I get the same result)
Winning condition: Capture 80% of cities (I've tried other values, still same results)
Then press "Save settings"

Popup "Game settings are saved, you can now join the game and add computer opponents."

In the "Players" section, under participating players, I see
"Individual players":
Gannon [dropdown menu with either: Join, AI Easy, AI normal, Close]
The Horde (AI)

"Players not participating in game"
Play as: jcooking99

Now here the logical thing to do seems to select "Join" in the "Gannon" dropdown menu. I get a popup stating "You have selected a color and will be part of the game. When all slots are filled the game will start." That sounds just fine.
But when I close the popup, in the "Participating players", I now see "Team: 1" and "Team: 2" each with dropdown menus indicating "Open slot" where I can choose a team color or choose to have an AI.
If I choose to be a color in these "open slots", I get an error popup menu stating that "Empire name is too long or too short. Error: This game is already full. Unless someone decide to leave, it will start in 10 minutes"
[BTW that should be "unless someone decides to leave"]


If instead of picking a color I choose to press "launch", I get a popup stating "Game is being created please wait. Loading popup".

And then nothing happens, the popup just stays there. So there is no way I can launch this game.

Anyone with the same symptoms? My impression is that although I selected a "scenario" set up for the game, it moves for some unknown reason to a "team" set up. I tried other Scenario maps (2vs5HARD for example), and I have exactly the same problem.

Best regards,
jcooking99
jcooking99
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:02 pm

Re: Cannot start scenario games

Postby SnotlinG » Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:42 pm

Will investigate!

Thanks for reporting!
SnotlinG
 
Posts: 2148
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:42 am

Re: Cannot start scenario games

Postby SnotlinG » Thu Sep 11, 2014 2:42 pm

Piranha has fixed the issue.
Please try again and let us know if it works now?

Thanks! :-)
SnotlinG
 
Posts: 2148
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:42 am

Re: Cannot start scenario games

Postby jcooking99 » Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:56 pm

Fantastic it works again.
Thanks a lot for the really quick fix!
jcooking99
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:02 pm

Re: Cannot start scenario games

Postby piranha » Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:16 pm

Yes got it working earlier today, but forgot to reply in forum :-).
User avatar
piranha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1179
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Cannot start scenario games

Postby Perry555 » Wed Nov 17, 2021 9:47 pm

This exact error just happened to me when I tried to create a solo game versus 7 computer players.

I picked my player color first and then I tried to change my selected color.

Now I can't get past the error.
Perry555
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:07 pm


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php